Michelle Clark Graphic Design


Gilmore Girls DVD Packaging
Photo by me

Photo by me

Gilmore Girls is my guilty pleasure. People who know me are surprised that I like this show, given that I’m more into movies, Comedy Central, and Adult Swim. It’s a great show to watch any time, when you’re happy or sad, bored or busy (I actually find that the constant chit-chat going on in the background helps me focus) and it’s great if you’re sick and bedridden because the episodes last forty-five minutes apiece. Given that Lorelai and Rory Gilmore (the main characters) have such a vast appreciation and knowledge of music, movies, and books, biting wit and sarcasm, and not to mention their coffee addiction, it’s no wonder I love this show. I started buying the DVD sets this last fall. I have seasons one, two, and three, but only one and two are pictured here because my neighbor is borrowing the third.

The Gilmore Girls series is one of my favorite packaging designs of all time. I love the font they use for the titles and pull-quotes (Solid Antique Roman), the color schemes for every season, the overall cover layout, and especially the way the set opens like a book, and each DVD has it’s own page so to speak.

I get all of my movies at Half.com these days. You can generally find factory sealed movies for less than half of the store price. Package design copyright 2002 Warner Bros. Entertainment Inc.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

thats better packaging then 3/4 of the stuff that comes out nowadays. Sadly a mid 20’s male isn’t in the gilmore girls demographic 😦

Comment by cello85

mine look different. the holder comes in a sperate cardboard cover. the holder itself unfolds into four cardboard leaves, episodeguide leaflet, DVDs on one, pictures on the other side. I bought them in 2005, so maybe that’s what makes the difference.

Comment by martin




Leave a Reply

